Identity

selfacceptance

Self-appreciation eluded me for quite a bit of time. It used to bother me when people would say, “You’re [insert adjective here].” As I grew to accept my many characteristics, both good and bad, I noticed that I was more at ease, less shy, more confident.
I still struggle from time to time with the concept, of self-esteem, -love, -acceptance, but I am MUCH better than I was 10 years ago as a teen. I suspect that I will be EVEN better 10 years from now 😀

Below is a poem that I have written that expresses who I am!

Identity
Introverted
woman
sensitive
black
intelligent
analytical
honest
beautiful
tall
quirky
athletic
altruistic
resilient
first-generation
anxious
curious
cautious
idealistic
lover
sensual
mentor
friend
BLESSED!
Each separately
does not
define me
but
the sum
thereof
does

One thought on “Identity

  1. Pingback: Living Life Shamelessly! | Happy Rants

Leave a comment